Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Teaching School

bpts logo large

Welcome to the Bitterne Park Teaching School Alliance

We are a growing partnership of primary and secondary schools, from inner city locations to rural contexts, that have come together to share our skills, experience, talent and capacity to help improve the learning of young people across Hampshire and Wiltshire.  We are dedicated to ensuring that all schools offer the very best opportunities to young people in our community.  We do this by supporting and maximising the use of talent across the partnership to raise standards and improve the outcomes of young people.

The Bitterne Park Teaching School Alliance provides high quality primary and secondary school-led teacher training for an increasing number of trainees in collaboration with the University of Southampton.  We also offer NQT induction and training.  Our NQT training package has an excellent track record of supporting NQTs to become highly successful and effective teachers.

Lead School:

Bitterne Park School, Bitterne Park, Southampton – a National Teaching School


Secondary Schools:

Chamberlayne College for the Arts, Weston, Southampton

Matravers School, Westbury, Wiltshire

Pewsey Vale School, Pewsey Vale, Wiltshire

Regents Park Community College, Shirley, Southampton

Saint George Catholic College, Swaythling, Southampton

The Burgate School & Sixth Form, Fordingbridge, Hampshire

The Petersfield School, Petersfield, Hampshire

Hounsdown School, Totton, Hampshire


Primary Schools:

Bitterne Manor Primary School, Bitterne Manor, Southampton

Moorlands Primary School, Bitterne, Southampton

Mount Pleasant Junior School, Newtown, Southampton

St Denys Primary School, St Denys, Southampton

Townhill Junior School, Townhill, Southampton


The Bitterne Park Teaching School Alliance works in the following key areas:

  • School-Led Initial Teacher Training
  • NQT Appropriate Body Support and Training
  • School-to-School Support
  • Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • Specialist Leaders of Education – Designation and Brokerage
  • Identifying and Developing Leadership Potential
  • Succession Planning and Talent Management


Who we are:


Damian Dean

Teaching School Coordinator


Andrew Foster

Teaching School Coordinator


Victoria Holland

Teaching School Secretary

e:   t: 02380 294133